Kano Assembly Elects New Speaker


Following the resignation of the former speaker, Abdulaziz Gafasa, Hamisu Ibrahim Chidari has emerged as the new Speaker of the Kano State House of Assembly.

Chidari emerged speaker upon his nomination by the lawmaker representing Wudil constituency in the Assembly, Abdullahi Achika.

The House also elected the lawmaker representing Albasu constituency, Zubairu Masu, as Deputy speaker, Labaran Madari (Warawa constituency) as majority leader, and Abdullahi Yaryasa (Tudunwada) as deputy majority leader.

Gafasa and two other principal officers which include Kabiru Dashi, and his deputy, Tasiu Zabainawa, resigned their positions without reason.

He had conveyed his decision through a letter to the Clerk of the House, dated December 14.

Although no reason was given for the resignation, it was reportedly related to recent primaries of the ruling party in the state and the inability of the former speaker to demand payment of members allowances and other welfare packages from the executive arm of government.

The recent primaries of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) for the forthcoming local government elections in Kano caused disaffection among party leaders after some members accused the state government and the party leadership of perpetrating injustice in the exercise.