The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, on behalf of President Muhammadu Bahri has inaugurated a 15-member National Stakeholders Working Group (NSWG), better known as governing board, for the Nigeria Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (NEITI).

Boss Mustapha on Thursday, inaugurated the new members of the NEITI board in Abuja.

The new Chairman of NEITI is Olusegun Adekunle, a former Permanent Secretary, General Services Office in the office of the SGF, while Ogbonnaya Orji, Executive Secretary of NEITI, serves as the board’s Chairman Secretary.


Members of the board are Bashir Bature Gafai (North-west), Iliya Gashinbaki (North-east), Godwin Akor Ogwuche (North-central), Nze Joe Ibeh (South-east), Awowoh Christian (South-south) and Damilola Olawuyi (South-west).

Other members of the 15-member NEITI board include the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Mines and Steel Development; Executive Chairman of the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS); and the Group Managing Director of the Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

The board also has a representative of the international oil companies (IOCs). The civil society organisations are represented by Peter Egbule while the presidents of Nigeria Mining & Geosciences Society (NMGS) and Petroleum and Natural Gas Senior Staff Association of Nigeria (PENGASSAN) are representing extractive industries professional unions on the Board.

This is the 5th governing board to be appointed for NEITI.