Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Biodun Oyebanji, a candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), as the winner of the 2022 Ekiti governorship election.

Biodun Oyebanji is a former secretary to the state government (SSG), Daily Dates Nigeria reports.

Oyabanji won 15 out of the 16 LGAs in the State.


He garnered a total of 187,057 votes to defeat his two closest challengers; Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) who got 82,211 votes and Bisi Kolawole of the People’s Democratic Party who secured 67,457 votes.

Professor Kayode Oyebode, returning officer for the election, declared Oyebanji the winner in the early hours of Sunday. A total of 16 candidates participated in the election. The total valid votes in the election were 351,865, void votes, 8,888 and total votes cast, 360,753.