President Bola Tinubu, on Sunday night, met with five Northern Governors of States who share borders with the coup-torn country.


The meeting was part of consultations by the President on the situation in Niger Republic.

The governors, who met the President at Aso Rock are Ahmed Aliyu (Sokoto), Umar Namadi (Jigawa), Mai Mala Buni (Yobe), Idris Nasir (Kebbi) and Dr Dikko Radda (Katsina).


Though details of the meeting held at the State House in Abuja were not made public, the meeting is coming as the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and other member states have imposed a border ban on the Niger Republic.

President Mohamed Bazoum was deposed on 26 July in a coup led by his presidential guards.